Tomaso Cecchini's Third Book of Madrigals »Amorosi Concetti«


  • Bojan Bujić



Tomaso Cecchini (cca. 1580–1644) who was a native of Verona, spent the greatest part of his life as organist of the Cathedral churches in Split and Hvar. The only surviving copy of his third book of monodies »Amorosi concetti« is now in the library of Christ Church, Oxford. It was published in Venice in 1616 and contains 29 monodies, 19 of which are for one voice and 10 for two voices. Compared with that of his Italian contemporaries, Cecchini's style appears to be simpler. He did not write elaborate and expressive melodies nor did he indulge in the various harmonic audacities of which his contemporaries were so fond. The brevity of his madrigals and arias is mainly due to his way of constructing the melodic line. He prefers syllabic treatment of his text and uses short melodic motifs to build up the whole line, so that his capacity to expand is to some extent limited. Nevertheless, this collection contains several fine examples of madrigals which owe their beauty precisely to the masterly use of rather restricted means of expression. This article serves only as an introduction to the discussion of Cecchini's works, which are at present scattered in several European libraries. A complete assessment will be possible only when they become available in a modern edition.


Download data is not yet available.


1. 12. 1966




How to Cite

Tomaso Cecchini’s Third Book of Madrigals »Amorosi Concetti«. (1966). Musicological Annual, 2(1), 18-25.